Forward

A few months ago Sheila and I were driving way out in the country when I spotted a field of sunflowers. I quickly pulled over to the side of the road, grabbed my camera, and proceeded to get a few shots. As I began shooting, two things jumped out at me about this situation. One: even though the flowers where blooming, they were only about three feet tall, which for sunflowers I had never seen before because most of the ones that I had seen were taller than me. Two: all of the flowers were facing the opposite direction. This was a bummer because I was standing in front of this field of flowers and since it was private property, I did not want to wade into this field and risk maybe damaging a few without permission first. I walked the length of the field (which was about 50 yards wide) and was about to give up and take pictures anyway when I noticed this one flower just looking dead at me. I got the shot I wanted and as I walked back to the car I could not help but think that it was nice to see something that despite the fact that all of it’s kind was going in one direction, this flower whether on purpose or not, went it’s own way and stood out because of it.

Canon 5D markII, EF 50 1.2 L, ISO 160, 1/8000 @ f/2

8 Comments on “Forward

  1. That is quite profound. It is true of people as well…it is the ones that choose to go against the crowd that stand out and eventually earn our admiration.

    • Thank you Eliza. At first I thought that I lost the shot, but you’re right, that little one certainly got my admiration.

Leave a Reply

