C&O Cushwa Basin

This is the Cushwa Basin part of the C&O canal. It is in Williamsport, MD and I stumbled upon it by accident during my “Big Pool” adventure. This shot is one of those “Happy accidents”. I was on my way back to the car when I glanced to my right and saw this. Needless to saw my jaw just dropped. Many photographers will talk about The “Golden hour” which is the light one gets to shoot in during sunrise or just at sunset. This was shot at sunset. Over the years I have learned that the “Golden hour” isn’t always so golden. Depending on the color temperature of the sun, it can range from yellow to a burnt orange or even red. This scene was lit closer to the burnt orange which happens to be my particular favorite. Not only that, but the sun was just where I wanted for this shot. This is the time of day when the sun moves so fast that standing there gobsmacked for even a few minutes would have cost me the shot I wanted, so I quickly dropped to my knees, composed the shot and took it. The way I see it, there wasn’t really any time to even set my tripod up. Even though landscape photography is about detail, it is also about composition. Having said that, I can live with a shade less detail (even though things worked out fine) than wasting time setting up gear and losing the shot.

As for the locale, This small town of Williamsport was, according to their website, under consideration to be the nation’s capitol by none other than George Washington himself.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 50 1.2 L, ISO 640, 1/200 @ f/8

6 Comments on “C&O Cushwa Basin

Leave a Reply

