Dumbarton Oaks

A few years back I went to the Dumbarton Oaks gardens in D.C. A nice place to visit as it also has a great museum on the premises and on occasion, some great art installations. This is a shot of a cherry tree (I think) outside what is called the Orangey room that has an orange tree growing up the walls and ceiling.

Canon 5D markII, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 320, 1/200 @ f/7.1

2 Comments on “Dumbarton Oaks

  1. Awesome photographs!!! Dumbarton Oaks is one of my favorite gardens for many reasons, and I am lucky enough to be one of the Gardeners. The area you photographed is called Beech Terrace and the tree is Beech. You have taken the photograph where I enjoy the light coming through the tree.. I love the root system and in the spring crocus come through the root system to make a delightful showing. And the Orangery has a Ficus, fig vine and this year is 153 years old. Thank you for your photos – I am a follower now. I’m thankful for the beauty in the world and you as an Artist capture just the right composition and coloring. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you so much Dutcha and welcome to the site. And thank you so much for correcting me on the type of tree it is. Thanks also for the heads up on the crocus as I will certainly be there to get a shot of that in the spring.

Leave a Reply

