Looking Up At The American Visionary Art Museum

This hand sculpture is an installation that is attached to the outside of the American Visionary Art museum in the Federal hill section of Baltimore. I first noticed it when I shot the Inner Harbor in the last post. When I first saw it I was at a great distance and I thought I was seeing things. Of course I can’t just let things go so I walked over to get a closer look. At first I thought “Why would anyone put this on the outside of this apartment building?” Then I quickly glanced around me to see if anyone was looking at this fool completely mesmerized by this hand that seemingly was about to pluck him off the ground and toss him into the harbor. I just stood there looking up at what seemed to be the hand of god totally forgetting the fact that I had my camera and maybe I should be shooting this thing before it actually moves. After about five or so minutes of gawking I did just that. I finally wised up and decided to pursue this matter even further by walking around the building and discovering that this was part of a museum and not an apartment building. Silly me.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 160, 1/160 @ f/8

Leave a Reply

