Return to gothic

_MG_9521-1Recently I drove to Baltimore at night to attend a food truck party called “the Gathering” at the Maryland Historical Society in Mt Vernon square. Not only was the food great, but I also took the time to get in some night shooting while I was there. Before I even left my house I had determined that I was only going to bring one lens with my camera and no tripod even though it was nighttime. I was a little worried that I would not get to shoot too many things because of lighting issues and the fact that I also gave myself a time limit (about an hour) and I would have to drive all over the city just to get a few shots. Imagine my surprise when after I parked my car and walked to the square that I realized that the whole square and surrounding streets where blocked off due to a book festival that was taking place at the square. The best part is that the festival was done for the night but the tents and stages for the affair were still set up for the following day. This meant that I could roam the streets in this area at night and walk any where I wanted with no car traffic and even less people getting in my way. I took full advantage of this and took a lot of photos with a laid back approach that I normally don’t get to do in the city. The photo above is of one of the doors in the gothic church in the heart of the square.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 50 1.2 L, ISO 3200, 1/125 @ f/2.2

Leave a Reply

