Ruin

One of the many things I like to do when out shooting is to explore abandoned structures that leave little if any clues to their former existence. The trouble is that with a full-time work schedule, it can be hard to find the time to do so. There are two Photographers David and Brandon who do this very well among others. If you haven’t checked out their work yet, I highly suggest you do so. Anyway, I was at work one day when I heard a story on a local radio program about an abandoned mill house on the C&O canal that belonged to a quarry that cut the red sandstone used in many homes and landmarks here including the Smithsonian’s castle building. As the story goes, red sandstone basically fell out of favor (for the life of me I don’t know why), and in 1900, the quarry was shut down. This meant that the mill house was closed as well. As one can imagine, the mill house fell in serious disrepair. In fact, there is nothing left but the stone walls and even some of those are falling apart. Upon hearing this story I realized that this mill is close to my home, so getting there shouldn’t be a problem. Wrong. After about a three hour search which, included driving, walking the canal from lock to lock, asking anyone on the trail for mile marker 23, and jump off the trail looking for any red sandstone structure I could find, I finally found the ruins of the mill house. From my perspective, what is left of the house is absolutely beautiful. I spent a few hours here on an overcast and rain threatening day, and intend to return back in the fall when the leaves on the trees that have matured inside the old building start to display their wonderful fall colors. I decided to post a photo in B/W this time, but will have a color version posted later.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 100, 0.5 @ f/8

4 Comments on “Ruin

  1. This photo definitely has a story and a past as some would say. Seriously, to me, your photos always have a message. Always! Beautiful

Leave a Reply

