Facade

This giant face stands in front of the Lyric Opera House in Baltimore, MD. It was on display during the Baltimore Artscape, and to be honest, I don’t know if it’s a permanent installation. I first noticed it when we arrived at the opera house for a dance performance (see previous post), and at the time, I only saw the back of it which, obviously is empty. After we entered the lobby we soon realized that it would be a while before the performance. Rachael and I took the opportunity to get back out and explore what Artscape had to offer while Her mom and Sheila waited inside in the A/C. When we got back, we were passing the face from the front when out of the corner of my eye I swore I saw this thing look at me. I stopped to get a closer look and sure enough, the face was making all kinds of gestures at me: rolling it’s eyes, moving it’s lips and the like. That’s when I looked down and noticed an array of mechanical switches lined up in a semi circle with children furiously pushing the levers in all directions. As it turns out, the switches allowed a person to control different features of the face. Of course Rachael and I had to get in on the act, and we went crazy.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 85 1.2 L, ISO 100, 1/320 @ f/11

14 Comments on “Facade

    • You are very welcome Brandon. I feel the same way about having one for the front lawn. I am sure that your girls would have a field day talking to the neighbors as they pass by. đŸ™‚

  1. My friend… you will always be one of the most prolific artist I’ve ever come to know. Your work stands the test of time!

Leave a Reply

