Mount Vernon Place United Methodist Church

The other morning Sheila informed me that her, Lisa, and Rachael were going to an arts festival in Baltimore called Artscape, and on the spur of the moment asked if I wanted to go. For those of you who don’t know, Artscape is the biggest free arts festival in the United States, and is held in Baltimore every summer. I thought about it for a moment, and decided that I would go. When we got to Baltimore, the conversation in the car quickly turned to the subject of the architecture of the city. Slick clean high rises mixed with old and beautiful buildings. The church in the photo above falls into the latter. It is victorian gothic to be exact and was built in 1872. The church is located in the Mount Vernon section of the city, which has a roundabout in the middle. You can see this beautiful church from blocks away and as you approach the roundabout where the church is located, it’s towering size just impresses you. Lisa let me out of the car to get a shot of this church as parking is a bit of an issue in this area, and I grabbed what shots I could, and hopped back into the car so we could get to our destination. On a side note, I cut this shot off at just above the door for a reason: there is a bus stop right in front of the church and I did not want the people waiting for the bus in my shot.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 100, 1/320 @ f/7.1

9 Comments on “Mount Vernon Place United Methodist Church

    • Thank you Misty. I love this gothic style and I am always amazed at the amount of work, skill, and detail goes into something like this.

  1. Yea, I would crop out the bus stop as well. How funny, you remember my Fenced Friday shot…yea, well we were driving along, I saw the fence, “Amy…stop the car”…I hop out, walk across the street and take a few shots. I think perhaps the unsung hero’s are our significant others (for putting up with us)!! 😀

  2. What a magnificent building. My wife has her tablet reader now to counter my obsessive & impulsive stops. It’s to the point where when I start leaning up on the steering wheel, she just mumbles, “pull over, already.” On another note, I don’t know how I will fight the “don’t text when you drive” argument to my daughters when they see dad cruise around with a camera on his lap.

    • Love the comment Brandon. Cheers to your wife for at least being prepared for the inevitable photo pitstop. As for the kids, this is why I have started to take more photos with my iPhone.

    • Thank you Kay. I know I tend to go a little crazy with the churches I post, but good architecture is good architecture.

  3. Awesome shot.. When we were at Artscape we walked in and were treated to a concert. I remember looking up at this church thinking that I shoudl have brought a wider lens.

Leave a Reply

