Look, I know I’m laying in the middle of the fountain, but I’m old, so get over it

This one of our many cats. His name is Rumtum. Many years ago, he just showed up at my house and has been in our family ever since. The truth is that he is pretty old and we don’t expect him to be around much longer. That’s okay, because he has had a full and spoiled life with us and he has always been a content and happy cat. These days Sheila makes sure he gets his meds, feeds him whenever he wants, and generally makes sure he’s comfortable. In his glory days, he was a sight to behold. He was a pretty big cat, paws and all. He looks a lot like a Maine Coon cat, although we don’t think he he really is. He would chase any stray dog upon sight out of our yard without a second thought of his safety (and I haven’t seen a cat do this since). Despite his size and weight, Rumtum was always great with the kids. They would hoist him up into their laps and he would just lay there like a rag doll, looking for a belly rub. He did have a terrible habit of licking people’s toes, thus giving us another reason not to eat at the dinner table in bare feet. All in all, this cat has given us great pleasure over the years so a few old age eccentricities is certainly forgivable. Wanna lay in the middle of the kitchen floor? Sure. Wanna come in and out of the kitchen door every 30 minutes? Have at it. Wanna sleep in the middle of the water fountain? Fine by us, we’ll just make sure not to turn on the pump and disturb you while you dream of  chasing that one last dog out of the yard.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 800, 1/100 @ f/5.6

16 Comments on “Look, I know I’m laying in the middle of the fountain, but I’m old, so get over it

  1. He is so lovely and so lucky cat, to be with you and with your family. Blessing him. This photograph is amazing, you know how much I love cats 🙂 Thank you dear Lionel, with my love, nia

    • He face is what cracks me up Robin. I like the leaf too. It will be sad to see him go, but the fact that he has such a good life does make it a bit easier.

  2. What a great photo! Gotta love the old guys, I have one who is 18 but you wouldn’t know it to look at him. But like you I think my guy is starting to fail and may not be around this time next year. Sounds like you and your family have provided him a life fit for a king and he in turn has shown you how grateful he is through is toe licking affection and dog patrol.

    • Thank you Misty. I am sure your old guy has lived the life of Riley as well and I sincerely hope you enjoy your remaining time together.

  3. Love this image of Rumtum! There’s not much that can beat the great times we share with our little fellas.

    Looks like a Maine Coon to me (my cat Edgar is all black but we think he’s a Maine Coon as well). Thank you again for your comment about Jasper, it really is greatly appreciated!

    • Thank you David. You are so right about the great times with our pets. Luckily, there are people like you and me to document it.

  4. Just look at this guy, up there like the old lion king…tail down in the water with a leaf caught in it and he doesn’t give a *@#$.:) Thanks for sharing this, and I’m glad to here he is spoiled. I have two that are ten years old, and I spoil them without apology.

  5. What an awesome story and the photo is the same. I once had a Maine
    Coon cat that looked just like that! She was with our family for 17 years and was a wonderful pet. so I know how you feel about this friend!

Leave a Reply

