Fate

 I was strolling through downtown Frederick yesterday when I came upon a great guy named Marco who I knew through his association of a paint store that I shop on occasion for work through my company. After exchanging hellos and long time no sees, I happen to glance down and see this little guy looking up at me. His name is Fate and he is just an awesome little puppy. Marco was holding on to Fate’s mom who’s name escapes me for the moment. I think I have maybe one decent shot of her ( I was so focused on Fate that I must admit neglecting her a bit), and if I like it, I will post a shot of her at another time.

Canon 5D markII, EF 85 1.2, ISO 500, 1/125 @ f/3.5

17 Comments on “Fate

    • Thank you Savannah. Since we have cats as well, I know it must be hard for you to give such a nice compliment to a dog ( there is that cat pride thing you know).

  1. I love, love, love this photo! What a gorgeous dog!

  2. The detail you have captured in Fate’s face and eyes are incredible. I love the way his face is so sharply defined but his body becomes a tad blurred. It puts emphasis on what’s important. You can feel the wisdom that this dog has in him.

    • Thanks Robin, as usual you get it. I purposely used a wide aperture(lens opening) for that shallow depth of field you see. The problem is that you run the risk (especially in dogs because of their snout) of having a lot out of focus. His eyes are so expressive that I knew that if I only had the eyes in focus, then everything else would fall into place.

      • You executed it perfectly. I’m not knowledgeable about photography techniques but love your work because you have a way of capturing the simplicity of even a complex moment for all to see clearly.

    • Thank you David. Around my house, we have more cats than dogs, and there are times when I sleep with one eye open.

    • Thanks a lot my friend. I probably would shoot myself if I had walked away and not had played with DOF on a puppy with eyes like that.

Leave a Reply

