Guarding the Cherry tree

I am sure most people know about the cherry blossoms that line the Tidal Basin here in D.C.. For those of you who don’t, a hundred years ago Japan gave the U.S. 3000 cherry trees as a gift and they were planted around the Tidal Basin near the Washington Monument. Every year I try to make the trek to see them, and sometimes I do, and sometimes I don’t. This year I didn’t, and truth be known I am glad because the crowds and traffic this year were particularly horrific. Word to the wise: If you ever make your way here for the blossoms, go during the work week. This year I decided to shoot our own cherry tree. It is large: It’s about 25-30 ft high and it’s branches stretch across our driveway. In fact, when we pull in the driveway, it’s as if you just drove into some pink/white cloud. The only problem I have in shooting the tree is the fact that for me to get a proper shot, I would have to include my neighbor’s house, and although I like my neighbor, I don’t want their house in the photo as well as the tree. Call me picky. I decided instead to focus on the statue of our dog Sia (at least that’s our opinion) that somehow seems to find her way around the yard in various gardens or under different trees. For the last two years she has been guarding this cherry tree, and from the looks of it, she seems quite proud. I know the tree is not actually in the photo, but I figure the petals were a dead giveaway.

Canon 5D Mark II, EF 24-70 L, ISO 160, 1/125 @ f/4

16 Comments on “Guarding the Cherry tree

  1. I grow up in Richmond (two hours drive from D.C.) but have only seen the cherry trees in blossom once, and that was two years ago. They were magnificent but I completely agree with you, the crowds are horrid. Even so, we enjoyed the trees. It sounds very special that you can enter your driveway through a pink cloud and enjoy the scents and the beauty in solitude, except for “Sia” helping you guard the view. Lovely photo and story, as always.

    • Thank you Robin. I am glad that you know what I am talking about as far as D.C. is concerned. Although it has always been my wish to shoot the blossoms in the moonlight, which happens to coincide with the blossoms most years.

  2. Magnificent, and I think it shows off the tree enough. This looks almost from some of the super long oriental romance/kung fu movies I’ve watched on lazy Saturdays. Love those petals on the ground and the texture on “Sia.”

  3. I worked in DC for 11 years and the cherry blossoms were always a great excuse to take a half day off and escape the office. I love this photo of “Sia”! What a lovely statue! I just returned from a trip to Pennsylvania where I photographed a similar pair of statues. I love the suggestion of the tree from the petals – I think you’ve made this a much more interesting photo with this approach. Beautiful!

    • Why thank you Laurie. 🙂 I have a few more dog statue photos in my arsenal, and I plan to post some in the future. If you find more, post them as I would love to see the variations out there.

  4. My friend.. your work is absolutely wonderful. You can capture anything and evoke such a beautiful story from the shot. Absolutely stunning

    • Many thanks Kay. I find that every shot has a story. I also find the support from Purely Kay is most grateful. 🙂

  5. Dear Lionel I can almost understand you. In my city, Istanbul there is a place especially to visit for cherry blossoms but it is so crowded everybody wants to be taken their pictures under these trees… As you my subject is these trees and I want to take only trees’ pictures… But anyway, I can see these thoughts inspired you and you did a wonderful composition with these petals… I loved this sculpture of Sia… They both standing amazing… Thank you so much, have a nice day, with my love, nia

    • Thank you Nia. Great minds think alike they say. I can just see you now, standing amongst the cherry trees trying to get a photo when someone wonders into your shot. It is not easy I know. And frustrating.

  6. Not sure if this is a good sign or not (sorry Brandon), but I had the same thought as Brandon did about kung fu movies! The petals really add a wonderful layer to this image, fantastic capture Lionel.

    • Thank you David. You both are right about the shot. Leave it to you two to see the Japanese theme I was going for. Nice.

  7. Pingback: Guard dogs « Laurie Bartolo Photography

Leave a Reply

