Playground

Last summer Sheila and I were walking the streets of Baltimore when we came across this unique art installation.  It is an arbor made of metal that has been fashioned in the likeness of vines, twigs, and branches. The thing that struck me as odd was the fact that this was installed on a playground of an elementary school. Instead of this being placed in dirt, this piece was installed on some kind of rubber mat or flooring that stretched all the way across the playground. I find it ironic that you can’t actually play on it, yet it takes up one quarter of the schoolyard. It was a mighty grey that day and I was not feeling it as far as taking photos were concerned, which is why I am glad I happened upon this beautiful structure.

Canon 5D mark II, Ef 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 100, 1/100 @ f/8

12 Comments on “Playground

    • I know Robin, go figure. I’m all for children getting a jump on learning art and culture, but this is way too fancy. Although, I don’t know if this school is private or public. I can see this in a private school.

  1. This is the type of work I’ve come to love and respect from you. This is stunning. I don’t know what else to say about it.. but stunning. Don’t ever let anyone tell you.. you aren’t a great photographer.. you are one of the best in my book

  2. Many, many thanks for the nice words Kay. I actually took this shot last summer and held back from posting it due to the fact that I was unsure of it. Now I am glad I posted it.

  3. Going with the monochrome made it blend in, but then there is the subtle surprise once you focus in that it is metal. If that was my school, I would have likely gotten in trouble for jungling around on it. Odd indeed to lay out such an inviting piece, and then tell kids they can’t play on it.

    • Thank you Brandon, that is what I was going for. I didn’t like the color version, as it was overcast and being in the shade it was really hard to make it stand out without some heavy handed processing in post. I agree with you about having such a thing in your school. You know how boys are. That would have made an awesome fort.

  4. My first time in your blog. Congratulations! I like it very much.
    This picture is really amazing.
    Regards from Mallorca.

Leave a Reply

