Digging in the past

Recently I was digging through my catalog of photos via lightroom looking for a specific series of photos for this blog. I soon realized that my current catalog only contained about a fraction of  my entire digital photo collection that I’ve amassed in the last eight years. After combing through my other hard drives I quickly began to understand that I was basically looking at roughly 180,000 shots spread across four cameras. In the past few years I have learned to rate my photos, but even at that it is very hard to keep track of everything. I found the series of photos I was looking for, but I also found the shot above of Rachael sitting in a cherry tree in full bloom. It was taken about three years ago. I remember it being very overcast that day and not being happy about the way the shots turned out. I look at those photos now and realize that I now have the knowledge to properly fix things like color and white balance to the point that I am happy with the photo. I am grateful that I save most of my shots and that I only shoot in raw. Without this there is no way that I could have fixed those shots the way I wanted. I’m not saying Jpeg is wrong, as there are a lot of pros out there who shoot in that format, but the latitude that raw affords you certainly goes a long way. At the risk of sounding like a hoarder, I am glad that I do save most of my photos. Some things you may have dismissed in the past can be worth a second look.

Canon 40D, EF 35 1.4 L, ISO 160, 1/250 @ f/3.5

9 Comments on “Digging in the past

  1. I’m actually like that with writing. My theory is, just because I don’t have the power to fix a dead end story now, doesn’t mean I won’t later!

  2. I’ve actually made this a regular exercise in a way. Revision is the key, as they say. One of the great things about shooting in RAW is that you can return to these as negative. Great portrait, and I’m sure you are happy with the results.

    • Thanks Brandon, You’re right about raw files being like negatives. And the good thing is that they don’t pile up in your closets like my film ones do.

Leave a Reply

