The Horse and the yard sale

Sheila has her own antique stall and often she will attend estate and yard sales to find items to sell. For the most part, I don’t go to such things as there aren’t enough photo ops to justify me even going. On this occasion, however, She was having a hard time locating the yard sale so I tagged along with my camera in tow to make sure she didn’t get lost. When we arrived at the sale I quickly realized that the place was not only someone’s home, but also a facility that teaches people how to ride horses. As Sheila looked over the goods, I got a chance to shoot a few horses including the one above, and even got to shoot a pig so fat that you couldn’t see his eyes. Sometimes it just pays to get off your lazy butt to go out and find yourself some photos.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 100, 1/250 @ f/5.6

8 Comments on “The Horse and the yard sale

  1. This left me a little disappointed (this should be read as being said in an amused tone). I saw the title and thought it was a post about a horse attending a yard sale. And upon reading the first few lines, I thought the horse’s name was Stella. It wasn’t until the last two sentences that I realized….

    Oops!

    Great picture!

  2. This horse is gorgeous and I love the way you have pictured her up close and personal!

  3. Wow.. you captured such a wonderful photo. It almost looks like I can reach out and touch the horse through my screen. Stunning work my friend. And If you won’t go to sales, I will certainly go with Sheila when I get in the area 🙂

  4. I love this photo of the horse! I have many horses around me, but I’m not able to get this close to them (without trespassing!). I’d love a chance for a good close-up of a horse. Very lovely photo! 🙂

  5. Thank you Laurie. I agree that it is not always easy to just walk up to a horse and get a shot when there are so many around us. I happened to get lucky that day.

Leave a Reply

