Thriller

As I have posted before, our Rachael studies dance and has become quite good at it. In fact, she is now taking classes in several dance styles, so her recital this year is should be fairly diverse and fun. One of the things that her dance company does is Flash Mobbing. It’s basically where a group of people show up at some random public place at a certain time and start dancing in front of an unsuspecting crowd of people. The shot above is of one such occasion. It was right before halloween and it took place on a farm that was open for hayrides, corn mazes and the like. I already knew the time of the dance before hand, so I arrived about about ten minutes ahead of the performance. There were quite a few families milling around, enjoying the days festivities, when all of a sudden I heard the unmistakable sound of the intro to Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”. At first I was a little taken back because I’m used to seeing Rachael dance up on a stage while we watch her from some theater seating. In this situation, the dance troupe just performs right in the middle of the crowd as they watch. After getting my bearings straight, I finally found Rachael in the crowd and snapped away.  All in all it was a fun experience and I hope I get another chance to do this again.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 70-200 4 IS L, ISO 100, 1/2000 @ f/4

6 Comments on “Thriller

  1. I’ve seen videos of spontaneous singing at public places, but never dancing, nor seen any in person — it must be really cool. And the impression I get from the picture is that these dancers are really good. Must have so fun for Rachael. What a way to get feedback from the “audience,” too.

  2. Rachael has this look on her face like “I am going to do this dance and do it right” :). She is adorable. And should I ask why were you shock they played Michael Jackson? I think I would’ve enjoyed watching them perform.

    • You are right Kay, Rachael certainly takes her dance seriously. You know it’s funny, I actually knew they were going to play “Thriller”, but I was a bit taken a back when all of a sudden there were dancers all around me.

  3. Nice photo, Lionel…Rachel seems to be not only a good dancer, but a good actress, too…The look on her face definitely matches the choice of music…Good luck to her with her dancing…

Leave a Reply

