Well at least one of us has to watch the house

I know I have been posting way too many animal photos lately, but then I have way too many animals. All kidding aside, I decided to post this shot because it to me it shows the difference between our two dogs. Sia, on the right, is the dominant one. In her mind, when she is outside she is always on duty. Corran, on the left, is the exact opposite. Simple and submissive, he is very affectionate and just happy go lucky. I took this shot on our front porch after Sheila and I had the two out on a two hour hike. They usually are very tired and you won’t hear anything from either of them without some sort of power nap. Sia for some reason, felt that she still had to keep an eye on things. Although in Corran’s mind I’m sure he’s thinking “You want to be the alpha dog? Fine. Have at it. I’m going to sleep”.

Canon 5D mark II, EF 24-70 2.8 L, ISO 160, 1/125 @f/2.8

8 Comments on “Well at least one of us has to watch the house

  1. Love, love, love this photo! And you can never post too many animal photos as far as I’m concerned! I have two dogs and they have the same dynamic as Sia and Corran. Daisy is the alpha and keeps herself very busy with things like perimeter security and investigating unusual activity in the yard. Webster is happy to let her handle security matters while he takes leisurely naps. 🙂

      • I’ve found the same thing works in my marriage! 🙂 But you’re right…Daisy only gets along with dogs that are easy-going like Webster. If they are too much like her, they are eventually going to tangle.

  2. Awww.. I think Sia just wanted to make sure all is safe for herself. And it’s good that you have a dominant one and a submissive one. Two dominant dogs in a house.. not good. Sia really seems strong int his photo. And my friend.. post whatever you like.. everyone will love your photos anyway.. they’re great 🙂

    • Thanks Kay. Your right about Sia. She always has to be the vocal guardian of the family, and she gives this look quite frequently. Truth be known, she really is all bark, although in her mind she’s ten feet tall and bullet proof. 🙂

  3. I agree with Laurie and Kay — can never have too many animal photos for me! This one is fantastic. Any chance you made the dog house? It’s beautiful and I keep noticing gorgeous furniture in the shots you’ve posted in your house. Love the way the dogs are “resting!” Awesome photo.

    • Thank you very much Robin. I bought the dog house at petsmart. Since Corran won’t come inside, we have to leave his house on the front porch. That’s why I painted it the same color as the house so it doesn’t stand out so much.

Leave a Reply

