R.I.P.

It is with much sadness that I have to report that Sheila and I have lost not only another four legged family member, but a great and loyal companion. Her name was Kytee. Sheila found her at the pound almost twenty years ago and brought the little kitten home. Kytee fell ill the first week that we brought her home, yet she manage to pull through this and lived a long and joyous life. Even though Kytee wasn’t too keen on hanging out with the other cats, she was at least civil with them, and instead focused her attention on Sheila and I. This meant that she liked to be held almost every time she saw us. In return she would steadily purr like a finely tuned engine of a luxury automobile, all the while drooling while she either licked your face, or chewed on your chin or fingers. Annoying sure, but she was so sweet that we usually just let her have her moment. Since we have quite a few animals, I can’t always write a post when one passes away as it can just be too depressing to read(or write for that matter) on a blog. Yet I feel that our Kytee deserves at least a few words as she provided us with so much fun, photo ops that stretch back to my film days, and most importantly, unconditional love. Cheers Kytee.

Canon 5D mark II, Ef 85 1.2 L, ISO 800, 1/30 @ f/4

14 Comments on “R.I.P.

  1. I have two rescue cats who are pretty awesome critters, this post has made me think that I really should try to take more images of them as I dont think I have done them justice pictorially as of yet.

    Sorry for your loss.

    • Thank you Thornberrie. I am sure you will get the shot that shows your cats in their best light. Take as much as you can and I bet you will get one when you least expect it. Thanks for coming by

  2. This was a lovely part of celebrating her life, thank you for posting about her. It prompted me to look back through all your posts under the animal category — they made me smile, laugh, or just be awed. The captions were often a riot, and all the shots were incredible. How lucky was Kytee to have this special place to spend her life. I’m sure you and Sheila and all the two- and four-legged members of your family will miss her. She was beautiful, and not just on the outside.

    • Thank you so much Robin. You’re right, she was an amazing cat. She always had nothing but love for us. She also had a great life.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. I know how hard it is to write about a pet that has passed away, but I’m glad you shared about Kytee. She seems like a special cat and I’m sure you will miss her. May she rest in peace.

    • Thanks for the nice words Laurie. She was special indeed and I am glad that she let me photograph her enough to share with fellow bloggers such as yourself.

  4. It’s always sad when you lose someone that has been apart of your life and your family. I am so sorry for your loss.. and of course if you guys need anything I’m here.

    • Thanks so much, Kay. We take comfort in the fact that she lived a long and good life. And thank you for the nice words.

  5. I love cats so much… I am so sad to hear this, she was so adorable cat, and I loved her. My heart with you all,
    with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

