The Ghost Dog and Me

Last holiday weekend I had a few hours for myself and since it was blazing hot, I decided to grab my gear and the dog (Sia) and go do what I call “creek jumping”. Creek jumping is me taking my gear and following a creek in it’s waters occasionally jumping out because of obstacles or mud (I’ve been stuck up to my knees before), then jumping back in. Hence the term. Sia loves it because she gets to sniff out frogs, turtles, snakes, etc. and I enjoy it because I get to take photos in a peaceful environment while getting some one on one time with my dog. The bonus is when I do have to get out of the creek and maneuver through tall grass, Sia is always good at sniffing out Deer trails for us to walk on and making sure that there are no snakes in our way. Sometimes we’ll jump a creek for a few hours and sometimes for five or six. During the course of shooting, Sia will wander into the shot. This doesn’t bother me since I’ll just keep shooting until she wanders out of the frame. The photo above is the result of such a situation. Since I am shooting on a tripod with a slow shutter speed, Sia is only partially in focus as her movements are too fast for the camera. I am hoping that she and I will have more time like this during the summer and maybe even spend some time in the Monocacy river.

Tech:Canon 5D mark II, Ef 30 L 1.4, ISO 100, 1/8 @f/11

17 Comments on “The Ghost Dog and Me

  1. My friends and I used to do the same thing on hot summer days but we called it ‘Burn Bashing’, burn being the river and bashing being the fact we went bashing around in it. It is an excellent activity and many a time I looked exactly like your dog does in this image. Great action shot
    Astra Wally

    • Thanks Astra. When I hit the river this summer and post, that is what I will call it. Although the post might read “Astra Burn Bashing”.

  2. First of all, that place is so beautiful that it looks almost magical, like it’s fairy land. Secondly, as a dog person, I think Sia’s presence in the photo has added to it…I can actually feel the connection between you and her in this picture, like it’s just the two of you alone in the whole world…

    P.S. I’m not keen on snakes, glad to hear that Sia’s good at keeping you away from them.

    • Thank you Didi. Sia and I do have fun in the aspect that she lets me do my thing while she keeps near me making sure I have peace to get my shots in undisturbed.

  3. I’m with Didi. The setting is mystical and Sia is beautiful and the two are a fantastic combination. I love the story of your day and what it means to you — I’m sure Sia adores your time together in nature. Again agree with Didi on the snake situation. 🙂

    • Thank you Robin. The snake thing does concern me a bit. However, I don’t mind them as long as they are not near me. 🙂

  4. I really like this shot, Sia looks great! I love the reflections on the water as well.

    • Thanks Mr. Hamilton. I don’t live near the ocean, so I at least try and get to some water during the summer.

  5. Ghost dog is a perfect name for the picture. It almost makes me think of a selkie. Very cool!

    Your not refering to Pennsylvania are you when you say Monocacy creek? River jumping has got to be one my all time favorite past times. That and pond exploration.

    And I also wanted to thank you for visiting me. I know how overwheming it is when getting behind in blog reading. Im just now working my way through 145 post notifiations. But summertime is here and outdoors beckons. 🙂

    Sia is a great dog.

    • Thank you Sara. Actually the Monocacy river is in Maryland, but there could be a Monocacy creek nearby as I am near the Pa line.

      No worries. I will always visit your sites.

      Yes she is.

  6. You know Lionel, this is a great post, years ago when i moved to spain, i was single,had´nt met my wife yet and no kid. I´d bought a big house in a small village and my only companion was my French Boxer, we used to take midnight walks into the “Campo” and she always led the way by about 3-5 meters, she was my protecter, friend and companion! This post takes me back to that time 20 years ago.
    Beautifully captured image in a lovely setting, you´re lucky to live in such a beautiful place!

    • Thank you Adrian. You know they say the grass is always greener on the other side. I get the same felling when I’m at your site.

  7. Pingback: On the fly « Spiderpaw's Blog

Leave a Reply

