Window

I know I like to photograph churches a lot, but as a photographer, it is so hard to pass up on the details on a beautiful structure such as this one when you see it.

Tech:Canon 5d mark II, Ef 85 1.8, ISO 100, 1/640@f/8

14 Comments on “Window

  1. Beautiful. I went to school at Virginia Tech and many of the buildings were made with this stone, and some had this window structure. The grate on the windows definitely creates a different image, though.

    • Small world Robin. I went to Va tech too. As far as the grates are concerned, I think it’s a shame that a church has to go that far to protect it’s stained glass.

      • Small world, indeed! I really loved my time at Tech and I’d like to get back and see the campus. It’s been quite a while, I graduated in ’83 and I think the last time was in the 90’s. I moved to Boston in ’87; now living in New Hampshire. New England is wonderful but I do miss the spring in Virginia. I completely agree about the grates, it changes the whole atmosphere. Interesting to think about that.

  2. Each of these old buildings is its own work of art. I never grow tierd of admiring them. I wish all buildings still had this kind of style.

  3. I like when you photograph churches. You have this ability to bring out the rustic and wonderful craftsmanship of the church. Very nice spiderpaw

  4. I have no problems with church photos, as I agree with you that they’re usually spectacular and make for good shots. One of my best photos (you know I’m not a photography guru) is of a little church in a tiny village that we go to on holiday, and I’ve got it framed and displayed in my bookcase. It fills me with warmth and good feelings whenever I look at it. Your photos do the same.

  5. Veri nice Lionel,,, Like Black & White in this Picture…

  6. I just wanted to let you know that you are a Genuine Blogger. Celebrate your blog, as it is comes across to the reader as heartfelt and genuine. There are no rules with this honor. Accept it and relish in the thought that your blog is “award worthy” without having any strings attached. If you choose to give this award to a deserving fellow blogger, please do so with no “rules.” Award it to someone for his or her genuineness in blogging. Free and clear.
    Kay aka Babygirl – Pure Complex

    • First off let me just say that I feel so ashamed that I have been away so long that I received this wonderful award and am just now responding to it. All apologies. Your awards mean a lot and I take them seriously. I still haven’t quite figured out how to give awards out yet, but I have decided to do something on my own, as you have given me so many that I at the very least owe you a very special accolade. The wayward ship that is my schedule is now on course and I intend to get back to posting and follow my blogging family in earnest (at the very least get my pure complex fix). Thanks so much for your support Kay as it keeps me inspired so much that I think of blogging even when I haven’t even touched a computer for weeks. Now that I am back, expect a visit from me soon, as I can’t wait to see what new over at the complex. Forever grateful, Lionel.

  7. Definitely a well chosen subject my friend, and the
    b&w gives this one a lot of character too… Brilliant 🙂

    Androgoth

Leave a Reply

