Iris

Of the many flowers that Sheila grows amongst the various dirt patches around our house, the Iris is my least favorite. That is because most of them look like floppy tissues to me. This one however, struck me because of it’s color and the fact that even after a good rain, it was still standing without the flower looking like a wet paper towel.

Tech:Canon 40D, Efs 60 Macro, ISO 160, 1/15@f/11

16 Comments on “Iris

  1. You are so kind to Irises (plural?)LoL You might try thinking of them as humingbirds in flight. Or as women in sweeping kimonos. Wet paper towels, indeed. I love this bright purple picture. The rain always brings out the colors of everything and makes them deeper.

    • Thank you Sara. I like the kimono description. Nothing is better than to capture a flower after a spring rain.

    • Thanks sunset. I have held on to this photo for a while now because I was in doubt of posting it, but now I am grateful that people such as yourself like it.

  2. This photo is incredible. The color is so vivid and the detail of the raindrops on the petals is just beautiful.

    • Thanks Dacia. I know I tend to overuse the whole rain drops on flowers thing, but personally I can’t get enough of it.

  3. Great Great Great Shoot,,, Incredible Photo… beautiful… πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Didex. Your landscapes are wonderful and I am sure that if I had the chance to shoot your beautiful country as you do, I would get lost and stay lost. That is of course until I get hungry. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Astra. I need to replace my 60mm macro, as I have sold it so I can get my macro on before the spring/summer lets out.

  4. I love irises, no floppy tissues to me πŸ™‚ And those droplets of rain on the delicate petals are just beautiful.

    • You know Didi, I’m not a flower guy: I like shooting them for the colors and textures. Having said that I swore that I would never shoot Iris’. This one certainly changed my mind.

  5. Yes a very colourful photograph Spiderpaw, and
    I like how you have captured it so well in this one πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

Leave a Reply

