Necropolis

I took this photo on my last trip to DC. It is an abandoned, gutted, apartment building located in the middle of a recently gentrified neighborhood that I used to live in. It reminds me of why I left the city for the country and never looked back. Not because of the decayed buildings or crime, but partly because the gentrification pushed everyone out. Gentrification is not all bad, as with it some of the older buildings get renovated to their former glory. The problem is that anyone that is middle class and lower simply cannot afford to live in these neighborhoods. It would have been nice if they could renovate the building in the photo above and make it so that anyone could live here. Truth is, that the building is slated for demo, and more than likely they will put up an overpriced condo. Then they will line the streets with overpriced restaurants and “specialty” shops that sell items that most people don’t want anyway. I know I sound bitter, but you have to realize that there was a time when people from all economic backgrounds and culture would sit in the same restaurant or bar shoulder to shoulder, enjoy the city, and think nothing of it. To me, DC now is nothing more than a trendy hot mess that caters to people who care more about being seen than being real.

Tech:Canon 5D mark II, Ef Β 70-20 L 4 IS, ISO 160, 1/125@f/8

13 Comments on “Necropolis

  1. Great black and white, and also a good point, the same thing happens in Edinburgh, and I’m sure it happens in many other cities and towns as well.

    • Thanks Kieran. I have been to Edinburgh, but only for a few hours. The next time Sheila and I go, I plan to stay a lot longer.

  2. You packed some major words there and you know what, I totally agree with you. This building is beautiful and renovated anyone should be able to enjoy it. Here’s the thing, they believe if a middle class family moves in, they will destroy it because they don’t know how to keep anything. If that’s the problem, then why don’t you screen each family and allow them the chance to show you the difference. Now I’m ranting over here. But I completely agree with you and I love the photo πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Bg. You are right. There are communities in the suburbs that have HOA’s(Home owners associations) to deal with such things. If thing your house or townhouse is not up to their standards and you don’t fix it, then they will fix it for you and you will be charged for it. I know that I have stirred the pot on this one, so the door is open for anyone’s rants. Besides, you do it so well. πŸ™‚

  3. I see so many nice looking buildings that are either empty (and could be put to better use) or they get torn down even though they still have very good bones. This one included. Such a waste.

    • Thank you Didex. The color version is quite good as well but considering the title of the post, it just screamed BW.

  4. Hey, I just wanted to let you know that I have given you an Award for your blog. View my blog to see it.. Have a great day πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for the award. You have already done so much for me. I am so behind on replying to comments because I had to work the whole weekend. As soon as I can figure out how to give you an award, I will. You work very hard on your blog and it shows.

      • Thanks Spiderpaw πŸ™‚ The awards post will be up tomorrow at 5:30pm Eastern. And you also work hard on your blog and I like to reward people who deserve it πŸ™‚

  5. Nice shot. Although it looks ominous, I could foresee me foolishly entering this place. They are doing the same thing in post-Katrina New Orleans. The difference is they never slate for demo and just build something right next door.

Leave a Reply

