WWII Monument

A couple of weeks ago I had a chance to end my work at half the day and decided to head down to DC to gets some shots in, since it was a beautiful day and I happened to be close to the city. I started in upper northwest and wound up at the Tidal Basin, which is the southern most tip of DC. I went to old neighborhoods, old haunts, got a shot of the white house (which I’ve never done), watched and shot a few protests, and finished at the cherry blossoms. All in all this meandering journey took about 45 to 50 blocks  and six and a half hours to complete. I was nearly halfway through my walk when I stumbled upon the World War II monument. It has been here for a number of years, and I have never seen it. It is quite large. It consists of a large basin filled with fountains, and surrounded by huge granite blocks with the names of every state inscribed on them. On either end of the monument are two large columns that represent the Pacific and Atlantic. Inside each column at the top there are four bronze Eagles holding a wreath which is where the shot above came from. I decided on this shot because there was no way for me to get a photo elsewhere without a tourist in the shot, which is understandable since this was the first day for the cherry blossoms and I knew full well that everyone and their mother would be out on such a nice day.

Tech:Canon 5D mark II, Ef 35 L 1.4, ISO 100, 1/160@f/8

8 Comments on “WWII Monument

  1. This is an instantly striking image and has the ability to keep my eye interested and moving around. Hopefully one day there will be peace!
    Beautiful image.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

  2. How in the world did I miss this photo. Your angle with this is amazing Spiderpaw. You always surprise me with your photography. Stunning

    • Thank you very much BG. I hope that one day I can get up before sunrise and get a shot of the whole memorial by itself.

Leave a Reply

