March Hare

It seems to me that having time to relax these days is as elusive as getting a good nights sleep. With having a heavy workload, Maintaining a blog, and trying to get some photos in between, securing a day off for pleasure is rare. Well yesterday I had one of those relaxing moments. And the moment lasted all day. After running a few errands, Sheila and I drove into the Pennsylvania countryside where we purchased some meats from our favorite butchers shop, took in the local farmers market, and spent the rest of the afternoon with our very good friends John and Jennifer, who live in a beautiful old house in this part of the “Keystone State”. In the midst of eating good food and enjoying great conversations, I managed to get in a few shots of this stunning bronze statue of the March Hare from “Alice in Wonderland”. Every time I visit them I like to sneak off to look him over for a few minutes as there is always something new to see from all of the detail and color that this statue has.

Tech:Canon 5D mark II, Ef 70-200 L 4 IS, ISO 100, 1/100@f/8

ADDENDUM: It has come to my attention that I have mislabeled this rabbit. He is actually the March Hare, which while writing this post I thought that he was. I changed him to the White Rabbit because of the watch he is holding. My mistake. I know it may not be a big deal to some, but I do take this blog serious enough to make corrections when needed. All apologies.

22 Comments on “March Hare

  1. I love the statue and the photograph. Very happy to hear you had a nice, relaxing day. I feel like those are a rarity for most people. We all deserve a break every now and then.

  2. All those shades of brown on the legs and thigh and the crisp edges of the shadows on the slate. Very nice! Im glad you had a relaxing adventure.

    • I did Sara. You’re right about the composition, when I walked into their dining room and looked out onto the patio and saw him in this light it is hard not to get a shot of him. I really lucked out because although I had plans to get a photo, he is not always in the same place, and if the sun had went down in this little courtyard, then the light on his face would have been gone.

  3. I love when a relaxing day last longer than 1 minute. And this photo is absolutely wonderfully taken but the statue weirds me out lmao. I won’t say I told you so, but you’re work is exceptional and you are a rock star now 🙂

  4. Thank you, BG. I know the statue is a bit crazy, but then after all he is the March Hare. I tell you BG, the photo doesn’t do it justice, to see this thing in person is insane. His crazy eyes are huge and dark. I also have some shots of him from behind and a headshot that gives you a good look at his face. Thanks for your support.

  5. You don’t know me very well do you? lol I would scream, think it’s real, and kill it before I realize I’m half asleep and it’s a statue LMAO. I’m not that bad though lol.

    • So do I Erika. He’s even better in person. In fact, he’s almost as tall as you are. I have a head shot of him that I’ll post at a later date.

  6. What an interesting statue. I would like to have it, in its full size and weight, sitting on my desk. I thought “white rabbit” the moment I saw it too. Great photo and I’ve enjoyed exploring your blog.

    • Thank you Bbrasseaux. Even though the rabbit is quite large, it would be funny to see it on somebody’s desk. I had a chance to check your blog as well and will be adding it to the blogroll shorly.

Leave a Reply

