Finding Poe’s Grave

I had some business to take of in Baltimore, MD today, and I decided to get some shots in while I was there. Sheila and I had always wanted to see the home of Edgar Allen Poe and visit his grave site. On the outset I should explain that we had 50 to 60 mph wind gusts today, so driving my cargo van much less shooting without a tripod was not going to be easy. First up, the Poe house. I was warned before hand that it wasn’t in the best of neighborhoods, but I’ve been there and done that so for me it wasn’t much of an issue. I fired up my navigator and proceeded to find the Poe house. What I was not prepared for was how bad the neighborhood really was. Urban decay doesn’t begin to describe the situation. We drove past the house at least three times before we realized where it was. Needless to say we never got out of the van at all. Not even to get a photo. After grabbing a meal and getting some shots downtown, we decided to look for Poe’s grave. We must have walked for about an hour going by the directions from google maps on my phone. Useless. I was ready to give up, but Sheila convinced me to get into the van and use the navigator to find the church in which he is buried. I did. It turns out that I just happened to park just around the corner from Poe’s grave site to begin with. I got to spend over an hour in the cemetery and around the church and for the most part, manage to salvage the rest of the day.

Tech:Canon 5D mark II, Ef 35 mm L 4 IS, ISO 800, 1/160@f/8

6 Comments on “Finding Poe’s Grave

  1. I remember going to the cinema to see Vincent Price in “The Pit and the Pendulum”.

    Interesting wording on the stone Original Burial Place, where is his body now?

    If I was rich enough to buy a bullet proof vest and employ body guards, I would love to spend time photographing the decay in Baltimore and Detroit – think of all those images.But I don’t blame you for not getting out of the van. There are some parts of London I avoid.

    • It is said that he was moved to the front of the cemetery beneath the monument that was erected in his honor in the late 1800’s. I also have a photo of that, which I’ll post later. I like this site better as it is the one where a mysterious stranger leaves flowers and a half bottle of cognac every year on the anniversary of Poe’s death and has done so for 60 years. Unfortunately last year the stranger never showed.

  2. Oh wow.. this is simply beautiful. I would love to see his grave in person. You know how I feel about your pictures.. breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

