Dickerson Power Plant

I got this shot from my walk on the canal last sunday. I was nearing the end of my hike when I decided to turn and go back before it got dark. Before heading back I had decided to study the Dickerson power plant (which backs up to the canal) to see what kind of shots I could get out of it. At first I thought I would capture the beauty of the canal against the industrial, toxic look of the power plant, but the plant is so close to the canal that I had no room to do so. As I looked up at one of the smokestacks, I noticed the moon above it. Liking what I saw, I decided to get my photo. Right before I pushed the shutter button, I heard this loud jet in the distance. I looked to my right and saw this plane with a long vapor trail about to wander in my shot. Instantly I knew that I had to have both the jet and the trail in the photo. I waited for the right moment, took the shot and went home.

Tech:Canon 5D mark II, Ef 70-200mm L 4 IS, ISO 320, 1/1600@f/8

2 Comments on “Dickerson Power Plant

  1. I’ve been thinking about this image for several hours. There is so much to look at:
    * the overall image
    * the detail at the top, with the plane and moon
    * the chimney and the trees.

    Looking at it on a computer screen doesn’t do it justice. You should frame a print and hang it on the wall.

    Great B&W image.

Leave a Reply

