The Zebra and the Monarch

Tech:Canon 40D, Ef 70-200mm L 4 Is, Efs 60mm macro 2.8

102 Comments on “The Zebra and the Monarch

    • Thank you. I was lucky in the fact that we did not have many Monarch or Zebras that year. In fact, the two shots were taken months apart.

      • Oooooh- yes! I’d LOVE to see that…how interesting. I used to hunt/collect butterflies as a kid. You NEVER saw zebra swallowtail- then one day, down by the railroad tracks – there it was! I can’t remember if I had my net or not 😦

      • I did not realize that the zebra was so hard to find for so many people, Author. I hope to be fortunate enough to find one again this year.

    • Thanks Charlinelotte. I have a lot of replies to answer to today, but as soon as I’m done I will most certainly visit your site and respond.

  1. WOW! Nature is so beautiful and yet so delicate and fragile. God’s creations help us to realize that we are not alone and that he plays a part in every aspect of living!

    • The colors that are in nature are just stunning. I agree that the fragility and beauty in one package is amazing.

  2. Butterflies are nice,but your Portraits are Amazingly beautiful. Great story about the mouse. You have a gift. God bless you!!!

  3. Wow what lovely shots! I love. love, love beautiful butterflies!! Thanks for sharing! you just motivated me to download some pictures I took yesterday, one is of a bottle -brush bush and I actually got some bees on the brushes! Congrats on being FP’d!

  4. So beautiful! Shame the wings are cut out a little bit. Stunning none the less ❤

    • Thank you Lizzums. you’re right on the wings. I usually self crop while shooting so I don’t have to in post. The danger in that is the fact that you can’t recover what is not there. Thanks for looking at my site.

  5. Congrats! You made it on Freshly Pressed! So wonderful and happy for your success. The butterflies are stunning. Also love the picture from yesterday of Bruna; I had the same impression as Didi in the way the kids legs were angled and Bruna in stride. Awesome!

    • Thanks so much Robin. And thanks for the congrats. Of course this morning I didn’t fell so freshly pressed.(long work day the day before)

  6. Wow..what amazing photos. Do you ever get used to seeing such beauty through your lens? I’m envious of people like yourself who have a gift for capturing images that most take for granted.

    Congrats on the Fresh Pressed ranking! Going to enjoy the rest of your blog now.

    • Thank you Cindi. I don’t ever get tired of seeing anything through my lens. I try to take at least one of my cameras with me most of the time. If I don’t get any photos on a given day, It doesn’t bother me. I just like to make sure that if I do start shooting, I have something to show for it.

  7. Nice shots!! Close-up/macro photography is a huge reason why I recently got interested in photography. I’m just starting out so I didn’t get a DSLR, so I won’t be able to take the shallow depth of view pictures that I love (and that you’ve taken). But we all start somewhere. Definitely gonna keep tabs on your blog. 😉

    • Thank you James. You’re right we all start somewhere. All anyone needs is a camera (any camera), opportunity, and desire. Good luck. Come back anytime, and if there is any advice I can give, just hit me up. You know where I’m at.

  8. Beautiful photos, I’ve never seen a butterfly like the one in the first pic, really love the flower in the second pic, and the butterfly as well obviously!

    • Thank you Kieran. The Zebra butterfly in the first pic is hard to come by where I live, but I like him because of his fuzzy body that looks like a prison jumpsuit from the 1930’s.

    • They are rare around here too, My Camera. In fact I had to leave and come back three times on the trail that I was on just to get close enough to shoot this guy.

    • Thank you Skye. I’m still shocked that so many people such as yourself like my photos. As of now, I feel very humbled.

  9. Unbelievably beautiful, clear shots! I love butterflies and get several batches of the Painted Ladies from InsectLore.com every year to raise and set free. Just doing my part to keep the world pretty and fluttery, and so are you, I see. Congrats on making Freshly Pressed!

    • Thanks for the kind words Witty. And thanks for the tip. I did not know that you could order butterflies online!

  10. Excellent shots, really crisp, close and clean. I like the colours and the composition. Beautiful
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

  11. Sheesh… AMAZING shots! I love the fusion of colours in the second shot. GREAT job!

Leave a Reply

