The Crocus and the Beetle

This shot is a perfect example of why it is a good idea to have a mini tripod in your arsenal. When I took this photo I didn’t have one so I had to use bricks and set them in a way that they could support not just the body, but also keep the lens in the position that I wanted. I had to lay on my stomach with my face almost in the dirt (I used live view for this one ), but for me the shot was worth it. I specifically chose to shoot this flower late in the day so that the sun – or in this case no sun just daylight, to back light the petals so I could see the purple veins of the flower. I didn’t notice the beetle until I uploaded the photo into my computer. Since these Crocus flowers are only about an inch and a half in height he is only a little bigger than the head of a pin. When zoomed in to 1:1, you can see that he has a green shiny metallic shell, and dark ruby red eyes.

Tech:Canon 40D, 60mm efs macro, ISO125, 1/20@f/8

2 Comments on “The Crocus and the Beetle

  1. Your photography is amazing! I am so happy to have found your blog this morning on fresh pressed. Congrats!

    Thank you for sharing this with us!

Leave a Reply

