Jespah

Sometimes when you’re out shooting, you don’t always have the best conditions to shoot in. My personal belief on these matters is to adapt and deal with it. If you’re creative and put a little thought into it,there’s a good chance that you’ll make it work. Such was the situation with this shot. Rachael was at our house playing with our new kitten Jespah. I wanted to get a shot of her holding him, so we went outside and started shooting. After taking a few shots, I knew I wasn’t getting what I wanted. It was mid-summer in the early evening ( my favorite time of day for shooting ), but the highlights (mainly the sky) were constantly getting blown in every shot I took. The problem was due to the fact that in order to pull enough detail on Jespah because he was so dark I had to expose to the right more than I wanted to. Since I’m not a strobist, and I don’t have an assistant holding a reflector, I had to come up with a solution to fit my needs. I still wanted natural light, so using a flash was not an option. I also didn’t want to resort to using my house as a background to block out the sky. As I scanned my property for different shooting locations, I realized  that there was a steep hill in my front yard. I had Rachael sit atop this hill while I laid on my stomach about 3/4 of the way down and used the trees behind her to filter enough of the sky out to give me the backlight I wanted for Rachael and allowed me to expose enough to keep Jespah in the shot. In the end I got what I wanted, and all I had to do was change my perspective.

Tech:Canon40D,70-200 4L is,Iso 500,1/160th sec@f/5

Leave a Reply

