Gorilla

I took this shot at the National Zoo in Washington,D.C. I was standing behind a mob of tourists shooting another gorilla in some concrete enclosure who was eating some kind of twig or something. At first I tried to reach over their heads with my 70-200 but I couldn’t get to high enough ground to get my shot. As I was about to give up, I noticed this guy off to the side on his own.It was nice because as the tourists were too busy marveling in the fact that an ape could eat a twig and swing from a rope at the same time, I had this girl all to myself. Enough time for me to compose and take my shots.I didn’t mind taking this shot from behind; after all, She’s the one in captivity trying to take a break from noisy people and screaming kids. Besides, to me the side profile of her face more than makes up for it.

Tech:Canon 40D, 70-200 4 is, ISO 400, f/4

Leave a Reply

