Desperadoes Under the Eaves

I took this shot of these four guys seeking shelter under the eave of a bank building at Dupont Circle in Washington D.C. The man in the foreground was talking politics to the man to his right as if he were one of those talking heads you see on CNN. The man to the right was dead asleep, and the guy in the middle was looking dead at me. This scene took me back to a time (more than twenty six years ago) when I lived my life as a hardcore punk rock kid with a bunch of other punk rock kids and we basically lived in and owned the circle. Back then there were a few homeless people in the circle and we considered them good friends, but most, if not all were in various stages of mental instability. I was told that this was because Reagan had cut some kind of government funding for programs  for those with mental health problems. I really don’t know about that, but what I do know is that I don’t ever recall seeing anyone with their entire life possessions stacked end to end or chained to a rail as seen in this photo. But then, If your crazy, you really don’t need a suitcase,  do you?

Rest of the series HERE

 

Tech:Canon 40D, 35mm 1.4, ISO 200, f/5.6

Leave a Reply

