Be Beautiful, Be Sad

I don’t know about my fellow americans here on the east coast, but living in the mid atlantic lately hasn’t exactly been a joy. Snow every week, not being able to get to work, and so much salt on the roads that the trees that line them are white. I don’t know how many times you vacuum your house without losing it. Speaking of losing it, cabin fever with all of the animals and us is a true test of one’s patience. Oh well. at least it gives me time to sort through my photos. Here is one I took of Mt. Olivet cemetery in Fredrick, MD. It was of course, after one of the many snowfalls we’ve had this year. A bit of history: Mt Olivet is the final resting spot of Francis Scott Key, the man who wrote none other than the “Star Spangled Banner”.

Canon 5D markII, EF 50 1.2 L, ISO 160, 1/250 @ f/8

9 Comments on “Be Beautiful, Be Sad

  1. I’ve lived in MA all my life and I used to feel like you about storms and winter in general, went in kicking and screaming and pined until it was spring again. Then I read “A New Earth” by Eckhard Tolle. He made me see how much I was causing my own suffering by resisting the present situation, how much happiness I was missing out on. So I started telling myself what I liked about winter…it’s beauty, the sunlight sparkling on snow, frost patterns, limbs lined in white, no mosquitoes or ticks! Letting go and being in acceptance has helped me get through adversity with a whole lot less pain! Try it this next storm coming, you might even come to like it! If anything, it makes for beautiful photo opportunities! ;-)

  2. While I’m sorry for your imprisonment in a long and salty winter (!), if it has such spectacular images waiting for you in it, I hope you continue to keep your spirits up and your eyes open, as we’re all the richer for it. Extraordinary beauty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

