Hunting Creek

After eating a big fat breakfast that Sheila made me this morning, I packed up my car and headed out for some landscape photos. I had something very specific in mind: Hunting creek that runs down the Catoctin mountain near Thurmont MD. Last week during the “Polar Vortex” that we all went through I went out for a drive to the mountain to see what’s what. That’s when I noticed the creek with it’s huge boulders and rolling water that parallels the twisting mountain road. At the time the weather was a bit harsh and it was late in the day, so I decided to come back later. Well, that later was today. What I didn’t realize was that there would be very little places to park and I would have to traverse large boulders and downed trees to get to the spots where I needed to be.

Since there are no clear paths along the creek, getting to the various places along it was extremely time consuming, as I had to crawl in the mud and rocks under and over trees, get to my spot, set up, shoot, and then climb a small cliff with heavy gear on my back, only to run along the mountain road as fast as I can since there was no shoulder (only a 30 foot drop) and jump back in near the creek before I got run over by a car or truck. Sounds crazy I know, but I live for this stuff. The sheer beauty of the creek kept me wanting more, and as usual what started out as only a two hour trek lasted at least three times that. All I can say is thank god for my Think Tank camera bag and my Merrells.

Canon 5D markII, EF 50 1.2 L, ISO 50, 0.3 sec @ f/11

8 Comments on “Hunting Creek

    • Thank you Kathryn. I nearly jumped out of my skin when I first saw this. To me, it was well worth the hike to get here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

